Conversation People Relish – Path 2

 

Conversations People Relish – Path 2
Towards Richer Conversations

Summertime Happy Talk
Summertime Happy Talk

Have you ever attended a conference on, “Listening”? Public speaking, yes, listening , probably not. Over the years in public ministry I have attended dozens of conferences on public speaking, on personal growth, on delegation and on many other subjects to get a handle on what was needed to succeed in ministry.  On, “listening”, I had to do my own digging. The numerous tapes, (tapes; remember them), and papers on the subject now reside in my home archives. Tapes by Denis Waitley and Ron Meiss were some of my favorites. The art of “listening” requires first that we; listen!

Listening can be hard work but there are ways that we can actually do this better. My second path on having  richer conversations  is:

Staying engaged by repeating key points.

Staying engaged with the one who is speaking will warm a friendship.  At different times during the conversation it is important to repeat back a key point the person made. This assures the one speaking that you are actually listening to them. This engenders a real good feeling when they hear their statements repeated back to them. A smile may cross there face. Additionally it creates, in us, a memory mental hook of what is being discussed. Its almost like putting the car in drive and now the conversation flows easily down a two lane street.

Here are two great sentences that show real interest to the one speaking.

>”That’s a great point, can you expand on that?”
>”Help me to better understand what you are saying”.

Then comes the hard part. We want to help them answer our question!  Pause; take a breath and wait. This is difficult for me because I want to help people form their responses. Solomon writes in Proverbs 18:21 that; “death and life are in the power of the tongue…”. I can give life to this conversation I’m having or I can kill it. I must pause and wait. Patience at this point will reward me with a much better understanding of what the person is saying.

“I’ve never been hurt by anything I didn’t say.”
Calvin Coolidge

Welcome to, “the Richer Side of Life”.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Conversation People Relish – Path 2

  1. Great points!

    I’ve found through the years that death and life are most certainly controlled by the tongue inside the arena of relationships. Regardless of the type of relationship. Words are many things, and should be carefully chosen; even when in jest.

    Patience is a virtue, so it has been said, and my retort – was it was one I lacked. All this time later, I’ve learned that without it in a conversation…you dig a hole sometimes not with an easy out.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I am looking forward to hearing what are your six paths to good communication, so far we have listening and engaging. Believe it or not and I’m not sure where or when, but I did read or sit through some teaching on this before.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for the great reminder, Dad! As you know…we are all a family of talkers! Growing up, it never bothered me that we interrupted each other. But, when I left our home and found out how rude it comes across, I have had to work really hard to not answer for people…and allow them the time it takes them to formulate their own response. Thanks again…for the gentle kick in the pants! LOL!

Leave a Reply

