Unexpected Home

Unexpected Home

    Path leading home
Path leading home

Have we ever felt unaccepted or forgotten? There is a place where we are accepted and remembered. It is a place with security and protection for all who choose it. I’ll clue you in a little later but first; for a story to be interesting and memorable it must have a good guy/bad guy story line. These stories can be told as light in competition with darkness, or good opposed to evil, or wise contrasted with foolishness or small in comparison with large. The stories that Jesus tells are both stimulating and unforgettable for this very reason.

In Mark’s gospel Jesus tells this rather short story about a small insignificant seed. His story begins with something small that grows into a gigantic world changer.
Then He said, “To what shall we liken the kingdom of God? Or with what parable shall we picture it? It is like a mustard seed which, when it is sown on the ground, is smaller than all the seeds on earth; but when it is sown, it grows up and becomes greater than all herbs, and shoots out large branches, so that the birds of the air may nest under its shade. Mark 4: 30-32 (NKJ)
This indeed is an intriguing and memorable story that will influence my life in a  positive way if I make the application.
Though the seed is small, I hold it in my hand to do with it as I please. If I do the work of planting the seed, which is the word of God*, into my mind and heart then I can expect a change to take place.
When I plant the seed growth begins. This growth is not only expected but should become visible to others. The growth has “greatness” attached to it which vindicates my effort in planting it. Finally the unexpected happens; it becomes a home, a place of security and acceptance. The insignificant becomes significant. The small seed becomes very large indeed. This is God’s kingdom, those who have accepted Christ as Savior. There are billions of us around the world.
Each believer, no matter what nation I have been in, has greeted me with the warm acceptance that these verses convey. Though my travels took me far from my home, I felt secure and “at home” wherever I was with my brothers and sisters in the Lord.
 “There is no place like home when the people who live there make ‘building one another’ their highest priority.” – Gordon MacDonald
With over 6 billion people on our planet it seems this small seed will have little effect in the world. Nevertheless, make no mistake, that each seed we sow brings people closer to home. This is the safety that Jesus indicates in the closing phrase of this story,“ so that the birds of the air may nest under its shade”.  The unexpected home is in the Kingdom of God!
Lord equip us to be the hands guiding others to the path that leads home.
Shifting Towards the Richer Side of Life
* Mark 4:14 “The sower sows the Word”

 

3 thoughts on “Unexpected Home

  1. Gordon Schuit says:

    THIS IS A STORY THAT ONE PONDERS IT TAKES SOME MEDITATION TO CONSIDER THE BREADTH OF GOD’S PLAN WHAT HE IS ABOUT and the gates of hell shall not prevail in His building

    He WILL build His church……

    APPRECIATE YOUR USE OF PHOTOGRAPHY (& caption!) I’m so glad you hat the opportunities to experience, to see and live and walk in, the company of believers round the world…..sharing that gives each of us better PERSPECTIVE!

    a SEED…..a little one at that….

    Gordon

    Rich Armstrong posted: ” Unexpected Home Have we ever felt unaccepted or forgotten? There is a place where we are accepted and remembered. It is a place with security and protection for all who choose it. I’ll clue you in a little later but first; for a story to be interesti”

Leave a Reply

