Sing!

I remember when songs had real meaning, (I say this with tongue firmly planted in cheek) back in the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s. I was driving my 1950 Ford. My second car that I brought in 1960. I drove and listened with the radio turned up loud. Here is a picture of my car. The number one song

             My 1950 Ford
My 1950 Ford

during 1958 for 6 weeks was Purple People Eater sung by Sheb Wooley.  Then, the Chipmunk Song by the Chipmunks with David Seville. In 1960, Elvis Presley pined Are You Lonesome Tonight? 1966 the New Vaudeville Band introduced us to, Winchester Cathedral. During the 70”s Crystal Gayle belted out; Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue. Then in 1961 the song, Moon River was introduced to us by Henry Mancini which you can listen to in 148 different versions. Now I’m waxing nostalgic! These songs are listed as the “Golden Oldies”. Songs can be purchased on cassette tapes, maybe even 8-Tracks, and surely on 78 RPM records. But the world moves on constantly singing new songs, I love the old hymns, Count Your Blessings, The Old Rugged Cross, Holy, Holy, Holy, Oh, How I Love Jesus all written in the late 1800s. These inspire me. In addition there are the choruses; This Is The Day, Our God Is An Awesome God, Jesus Name of Above All Names,  Shout To The Lord and Blessed be the Name of the Lord. Each chorus expresses my love for God in an anointed manner. The secular song titles above provide an anchor to my youthful days. I’m not throwing them by the wayside since they remind me that I was young and now am “older”. I must admit that I haven’t listened to them since my youth. But I remember them. The hymns pull my heart and soul back to a time when God made Himself real to me. These are treasures to me. Ah, those old familiar choruses draw me back to a significant spiritual growth phase in my life.  Sing unto him a new song; play skillfully with a loud noise. King David in Psalm 33:3 These are chapters in the book of my life, none will be discarded! At present my book is not finished and neither is yours. Our life book is continually being written and new songs will be heard. Oh, how wonderful for the new songs being written. With all the strife and negativity in the world, it is great to be singing new positive songs of praise to our Redeemer! I know my Redeemer lives and I’ll keep listening for new songs to worship Him. Sing, sing with all our might! Welcome to the Richer Side of Life, Richard

One thought on “Sing!

Leave a Reply

